2017 ACVO "Best" Manuscript Award Winners


Best Clinical Research Manuscript Recipient:
Dr. Michele Edelmann for "Adjunctive autologous platelet rich plasma treatment following diamond burr debridement for canine spontaneous chronic corneal epithelial defects - a randomized controlled clinical trial"
This paper evaluated the effects of adjunctive treatment with platelet rich plasma on corneal re-epithelialization, vascularization, and fibrosis in dogs with spontaneous chronic corneal epithelial defects. In this population of dogs no significant difference was found, but the treatment was well tolerated.


Best Basic Science Manuscript Recipient: (Not pictured)
Dr. Todd Marlo for "Altering equine corneal fibroblast differentiation through Smad gene transfer"
The paper describes the use of gene transfer technology to silence profibrotic Smad, overepxress antifibrotic Smad, or a combination of therapies to control TGF-β1-mediated fibrosis in equine fibroblasts. Such therapies could be used in the future to diminish corneal scarring. Read the full manuscript here.


Best Case Report Manuscript Recipient:
Dr.  Ben Bergstrom for "Canine Panuveitis: a retrospective evaluation of 55 cases (2000-2015)"
This paper describes the most common etiologies of panuveitis in a group of dogs, patient response to therapy, and visual outcome. Dogs with idiopathic/immune-mediated panuveitis tended to respond more favorably to medical therapy than dogs with infectious panuveitis. Visual outcome was favorable in those dogs that responded to initial medical therapy, but long-term therapy was required in many dogs to maintain vision and prevent recurrence of disease. Read the full manuscript here.